Skip to main content

Genealogy: Welcome!

Have you ever wondered about your ancestors and your heritage? This Genealogy Guide will help you research your family tree and its roots.

Mother Irene Gill Library

Gill Library, named in honor of Mother Irene Gill, O.S.U., the founder of the College, houses 200,000 print and electronic volumes and has full-text access to 80,000 electronic journals in over 60 databases as well as print periodicals.  Gill Library uses the Web-based Innovative Interfaces Millennium System to provide an online catalog to the Library’s holdings, automated circulation, and other computerized library systems such as FullText Finder (linking the availability of full text across multiple databases), Virtual References Services (24/7 Chat), and LibraryAnswers (Email a Librarian). 

In addition to the circulation of materials, the Library offers the following resources and services to the College Community:

  • Workshops and formal Library instruction to groups and to individuals who request it
  • Interlibrary borrowing of materials
  • RefWorks (citation management system)
  • Reference and research assistance
  • Document delivery
  • Electronic reserves
  • Wireless Internet access
  • Wide selection of databases including:
    • E-Books
    • JSTOR
    • ARTStor
    • Cochrane Collection Plus
    • SAGE Publications
    • EBSCOhost databases
    • ProQuest databases

Gill Library is a member of the Association of College and Research Libraries, the Metropolitan New York Library Council, and the Westchester Academic Library Director's Organization (WALDO).  For more information, please contact:


Gill Library
The College of New Rochelle
29 Castle Place
New Rochelle, New York 10805
Circulation Desk: (914) 654-5340
Reference Desk: (914) 654-5342

Mother Irene Gill Library   29 Castle Place   New Rochelle,  NY 10805 
(914) 654-5340     
copyright 2007/2013     
gillrefdesk@cnr.edu